Found this…


Not by ourselves
December 28, 2008, 8:37 pm
Filed under: Some food for today | Tags: , , , ,

Today was a great day, started with a surf with mates, made a bookshelf for a mate (watching 4 guys go to Bunnings and buy materials to make a bookcase was an experience. The guys who worked there were literally laughing at us, “How many guys does it take to make a bookshelf. You’re using bricks and planks of wood. Can I take a photo?”), and then went to church. Our God is a good God. It makes me wonder how great is His love, knowing how I treat Him.

Now today’s sermon was on Galatians 5. Talking about being the end of 2008 and how you are going to ‘do’ 2009. Are you going to let God shape your 2009, shape you in 2009? That was one of the questions and as we all know that is easier at some points than others. We want to walk with our Father but sometimes we walk out of step with Him and end up faltering. That’s the sucky bit. Now this is not to get us down but to realise we can’t do it with our own power, with our own strength, WE CAN’T DO IT ON OUR OWN! I love it how Galatians 5 talks about the spirit. The result of not being in the spirit and when we are in the spirit what it looks like.

” So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature. For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want. But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under law.

 The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.” (Galatians 5:16-21) 

When I read the above it makes me think about my own life. How opposed is my walking in the spirit to being in sinful nature? I really think that I sometimes kid myself with how I look at life. However when I read this I am so convicted that things have to change. I read the acts of the sinful nature and don’t want to be associated with any of these however so often I see myself tainted with these worldly desires. They are all fleeting pleasures which I know. The life of Christianity is a battle and I really want to fight hard(er) this up coming year.

So I have to work on wanting what the spirit calls me to: “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.” (Galatians 5:22-25) 

One of the songs that we sung tonight was LOVE CAME DOWN by Ben Cantelon. I love singing this song not only because I like the tune but also the words that seep deep into the heart. Read them and you’ll see.

When I call on Your name You answer
When I fall You are there by my side
You delivered me out of darkness
Now I stand in the hope of new life.

(pre-chorus)
By grace I’m free
You’ve rescued me
All I am is Yours

(chorus)
I’ve found a love greater than life itself
I’ve found a hope stronger and nothing compares
I once was lost now I’m alive in You

(verse 2)
You’re my God and my Firm Foundation
It is You whom I’ll trust at all times
I give glory and praise, adoration
To my Saviour who’s seated on high

(bridge)
Love came down and rescued me
I thank You, I thank You
I once was blind but now I see
I see You, I see You

 

STAY STRONG IN THE  LORD and YOU’RE NOT ON YOUR OWN!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“I read the acts of the sinful nature and don’t want to be associated with any of these however so often I see myself tainted with these worldly desires. They are all fleeting pleasures which I know. The life of Christianity is a battle and I really want to fight hard(er) this up coming year.”

THIS BLOG WAS SO ENCOURAGING tonight and totally where I was coming from in my own blog today. Thank you for sharing. I just started to blog a couple weeks ago but I think I’m getting the hang of it. I’ll be dropping in on yours, hope you don’t mind. 🙂

Comment by celticlens




Leave a Reply

