Found this…


Starve and feed
January 19, 2009, 10:18 pm
Filed under: Some food for today | Tags: ,

I don’t normally watch the Christian channel but when I did have a flick ages ago I came across this guy who was giving a sermon sexual purity. I don’t remember the points he made but I do remember a quote that he made.

“STARVE WHAT YOU WANT TO KILL AND FEED WHAT YOU WANT TO GROW”

Now I reckon this quote could be used for the whole Christian life. It’s not only for sexual purity but is relevant for all facets of life, whether it be what we watch, how we work, what we do for fun etc…

Now I think the hardest thing about doing this is sticking to it as there are so many things that try to grab our attention and take us away from living the way God would want us to. I was speaking to a good friend recently about encouraging other people in their faith and continuing to build each other up. We were saying its so hard to do this on our own. First and foremost we have God and His Spirit but we also have each other to keep each other on the straight and narrow. Reminding your fellow brothers and sisters in Christ is something that we need to do more. How often do you hang out with a Christian mate and end up not talking about anything to do with God. I do it all the time and I think its sad that we don’t do it more. I’m not saying that it should be the only thing you talk about but making it once in a blue moon is sad. It should be a joy to talk about our hope.

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I watched the Christian Channel the other day and found the coolest program… it was about Cristian surfers and was actually pretty good. I’ve never watched ACC before cos I honestly thought it would be pretty lame (and a lot of it is)but I think you’re on to something!
And I totally agree with the “STarve and Feed…” Quote, but where do you reckon you draw the line?? The only way to tell others about Jesus is to spend time with non-christians and form relationships etc. so it may be important to go see that movie or go to the pub in order to not completely withdraw urself from this world. I don’t know, I guess it’s different for each person and we have to draw our own line??

Comment by sammyj88

Totally agree. I think we need to spend time with non-xians all over the place but not at the expense of our own walk with God. I think as you know your tolerances and what you are easily swayed in then you get a better idea of when you say yes and when you say no. Hopefully those around you know that you’re saying no or yes because you are a Christian and not some other reason etc…

Hahahah ACC is good and not but I don’t have it anymore… so you’re going to have to tell me all about it!

Comment by samuellam1




Leave a Reply

